AP top player Murray adds O’Brien; Tua wins Camp

AP top player Murray adds O’Brien; Tua wins Camp

AP top player Murray adds O’Brien; Tua wins Camp

Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa carries the ball against The Citadel Nov. 17 in Tuscaloosa, Ala.

Alabama's Tua Tagovailoa and Oklahoma's Kyler Murray split four college football year-end awards Thursday, setting up a showdown for Saturday night when they contend for the Heisman Trophy. For the first time since 2008, when Oklahoma's Sam Bradford, Texas' Colt McCoy and Florida's Tim Tebow were the Heisman finalists, only quarterbacks were invited to NY for the trophy presentation.

Conveniently left out of the picture was Ohio State quarterback Dwayne Haskins - the third finalist for the award.

Murray won over Tagovailoa and Minshew for the O'Brien.

That didn't stop one Ohio State fan from calling out Kirk Herbstreit on Twitter for ESPN's "typical Ohio State and Big Ten disrespect". Only twice since 2002 has the AP Player of the Year not won the Heisman, Nebraska's Ndamukong Suh in 2009 and Stanford's Christian McCaffrey in 2015.

More news: Microsoft briefly toppled Apple as the most valuable company in the world

Murray joins Baker Mayfield (2017), Josh Heupel (2000), Jason White (2003) and Sam Bradford (2008) as previous AP Player of the Year winners from Oklahoma.

As for raw numbers, Murray has thrown for 4,053 yards, 40 touchdowns and just seven interceptions while completing 71 percent of his passes.

The future pro baseball player was honored with the Davey O'Brien Award on Thursday night at the College Football Awards Show. Murray took home the Davey O'Brien Award, which goes to the best quarterback. He has also rushed for 892 yards and another 11 scores.

Kyler Murray has put together one of the greatest individual seasons in college football history. McCarron was the last Maxwell Award victor to not win the Heisman.

Related news