Gmail Rolls Out 'Confidential Mode' Feature For iOS & Android Apps

Gmail Rolls Out 'Confidential Mode' Feature For iOS & Android Apps

Gmail Rolls Out 'Confidential Mode' Feature For iOS & Android Apps

Google announced new feature, "Confidential mode" back in April this year for the users for enhanced security of their sensitive information that they email to their contacts.

Head over to the Gmail app on your mobile device. When enabling Confidential Mode, Gmail will allow you to set an expiration timer on the attachments, as well as block the receiver's ability to forward, download, and copy the document. Also, the confidential mode feature isn't now available for G Suite customers. When this is enabled, the recipient will get a text message containing the passcode, and they have to enter it to unlock the email. The feature has landed for all Android and iOS users, and users don't have to update their application to see this mode since Google is exchanging it on gradually through a server-side update.

The feature would help "when we send proposals in a sales organization that we don't want to be outside of their network or their world", said Brady Edwards, director of customer solutions at email deliverability company 250ok.

Open the sent confidential email.

If you choose "No SMS passcode," Gmail app users will be able to open it directly.

More news: Turkey's Erdogan stands by opposition to high interest rates

Tip: If you've already turned on confidential mode for an email, go to the bottom of the email, then click Edit. After that, tap on the three dot menu on the top-right of the screen, which will then show a "confidential mode" option.

Do share your thoughts and opinions on the new confidential email mode in the comments section below.

Instructions on how to send and open confidential emails have been listed on Google's support page. The so-called confidential emails will not be end-to-end encrypted which means Google will have an option to encrypt and decrypt the secured emails anytime disregard expiration dates.

The second option involves sending a passcode to the recipients linked mobile number. The mode is a self-destruct timer too which will automatically delete all the info at the exact time you like. Once this is done, the user will see a message that says content expired.

Related news